iStudio.com’s Featured Photographer For October

iStudio.com is a website for models, photographers, makeup artists, hair and wardrobe stylists similar to the more popular (Model Mayhem site). And for the month of October, yours truly is their featured photographer. Hurrah!

They asked me some questions, and I wanted to share that here:

photography by jar concengco

1. How did you get your start in photography?

I picked up my very first camera when I was 12 years old. Growing up in San Francisco, CA, I found it so exotic whenever I visited the Philippines. And I always wanted to take photographs to remember everything. In college, I took up journalism which further fueled my passion for photography. After graduating, I worked for a men’s magazine as an editorial assistant writing articles, and assisting in photoshoots. It was then that I realized that I really loved photography and wanted to pursue it as a career.

2. Digital or Film?

I shoot digitally. In college, we shot on film and had to develop them in a darkroom

(because it was part of the curriculum). Digital fulfills the requirements needed with my clients and the projects that I do. So for me, it’s convenient and more than adequate.

3. What is your style?

My style is a mixture of things. I love shooting on location. Take a look at my photos on my site (http://www.campfiremedia.net), and you’ll notice that 90% of them are not in the studio. I feel that the location and the backdrop plays an important part to the feel of the photo and I like incorporating that. I also have a degree in journalism and love taking photographs that tell a story.

4. What type of photography do you do?

For the first 2 years of my career, I only shot fashion so I can develop a strong portfolio. After that, I broadened my spectrum by also shooting weddings. Clients thought that I shot their weddings with an editorial and fashion twist to them. That overlapping of style is I think why my clients hire me in the first place. Though fashion is my ultimate soft spot, I find myself dabbling in food and interior photography as well.
5. How long have I been a photographer?

I’ve been doing photography professionally for 5 years now. My very first gig was being hired by a fashion designer to cover her fashion show/Too Short concert in Oakland. Wow, it’s been a long road since!

Share this post:
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Comments
One Response to “iStudio.com’s Featured Photographer For October”
  1. Poncho says:

    After all these years…im still inspired by your photography! I’m still your biggest fan!

Leave a Reply

