2010: A Year In Pictures

You’re all probably looking at your calendars and thinking, wait, 2010 is way over. It is, I know! But it was such a great year. Like in any relationship you’re bidding farewell to, you need closure to face what’s ahead. And in this case, by closure, I mean having a heart to heart talk with the wonderful photos produced this year (and by “this year”, I mean 2010. Confusing, right?).

I spent the first day of 2010 in two places that I can call home. I woke up on New Year’s day in sunny Manila, Philippines and (thanks to the international date line) I was able to catch dinner in San Francisco, CA the same day. And I think that first day set the the tone of my year – fast paced, exciting, and all over the place.

photography by jar concengco

January

A wedding was a wonderful way to start 2010. It’s a time to put on that tux or a nice gown, and everyone seems to be in a good mood. And why shouldn’t you be? It’s a day of celebration! Good friends Cherry and Darrell tied the knot early January 2, 2010 and just celebrated their first anniversary this year! Happy anniversary guys!

Here, I’m sharing some pages from their wedding book that we’ve laid out for them:

photography by jar concengco

photography by campfire media

photography by campfire media

Early that year, I was also published in Statement magazine. They had a nice little write up on how I started as a photographer and what inspires me. The photos that they published were of my shoot with designer Daryl Maat. Here’s an excerpt of that article, and some outtakes of that shoot:

“Concengco’s images are tinged with the qualities that should prove fresh for an industry ready for new sensibilities, and his seemingly effortless shots belie a philosophy that keeps an eye on how the future is going to convey images.” – Statement Magazine, Jan. 2010

photography by jar concengco

While I was in San Francisco, I also shoot a fashion editorial for Sense & Style Magazine with stylist Alanna Anderson. We shot at one of the classiest clubs in San Francisco: Infusion Lounge. Makeup artist Risa Robins-Moloney took a behind the scenes video of our shoot, which I’d like to share here:

To see the full published version of the editorial, please click here. Here are never before seen outtakes:

photography jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

And as if the year couldn’t get any hotter, FHM comes out with their newly formatted issue for 2010. Model Charlene Phan in San Francisco was featured in the issue, and I was happy to be the one to photograph it (hair and makeup by Le Burge’t Salon / styling by Laura Anne Hollabaugh)

photography jar concengco

February

I’ve worked with food stylist Giannina Gonzelez (of Buenisimo and Cafe Ysabel) before and felt positive about working with her again. And in February, we finally had our schedules free to actually get together and collaborate. I always stash inspiration photos on my iphone whenever I see something I like online. And when it comes to food photography, I have a whole album of inspiration that I look at from time to time. And that’s what Giannina and I did. We looked through some of these ideas and photos, and worked off of it.

Here’s her blog of our shoot.

photo by giannina gonzalez

Me shooting food on the floor

photography by jar concengco

March
My wife’s good friend got married on the shores of Boracay in a beautiful and unforgettable 2 night rendez-vous. The wedding was so beautiful that it landed the cover of Wedding Essentials Magazine’s Beautiful Weddings issue 2010-2011. Relive it all over again! Click here for Day 1 and here for  Day 2. From what I hear, Kim just gave birth to healthy baby boy yesterday! Congratulations to the new parents!

cover photo by mark cantalejo

photography by mark cantalejo and campfire media

photography by mark cantalejo and campfire media

This month also found me shooting food again with good friend Chef Bruce Lim. Talking to him always reminds me of all my friends back home in SF so it’s always a good time. I shot some photographs that were to be used for his website. Since then, he’s opened up his new restaurant in The Fort and has been one of the busiest chefs in the country. See the full post here.

photo by jar concengco

photo by jar concengco

photo by jar concengco

April
I did my very first debutante pictorial. I do conceptual engagement (or here in the Philippines, they refer to it as prenuptial) shoots before, but doing a debutante pictorial is new to me. It was conceptual: we wanted to imitate several different types of movies or tv show posters and have the debutante as the lead.

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

May

I photographed a girl band named Silk. From what I know, they’re the longest-lasting girl band around here in the Philippines, performing over 1,000 events in the span of their career. Pretty impressive. Thank you to Star Abonita and Mervin Lazaro (Mervin styled the girls as well.)

photography by jar concengco

This month also had me shooting with S Magazine for the first time. Subject: Jason Abalos. Jason has been appearing in primetime tv shows left and right recently. At the time I shot him, he was in the show called Agua Bendita. Really easy to shoot, and a funny guy:

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco
June

When someone tells you that they would like to hire you to photograph 40 of their bags, it doesn’t sound too exciting does it? Not really. A bit catalogue-ish, right? But I guess when you test yourself and take on new challenges, it helps make you one of the sharpest knives in the drawer. That was my motivation when I photographed a brand of traveling bags called Europak. For that, I want to say thank you to Blue Thumb Graphics for this shoot.

photography by jar concengco

I always return to what I love shooting the most: fashion. So here, I collaborated with stylist Mervin Lazaro once again for a really awesome jungle-inspired, ethnic fashion story which was printed in Sense & Style Magazine. Mervin called on his good friends to do the makeup and hair: Jake Galvez and Buern Rodriguez.

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

photography jar concengco

Putting on the finishing touches

July
I got published in an Italian magazine called Duemila. Though, it’s really just one inset photo of model and entrepreneur Scott Zachary. But still!

The month of July was also the month that our good friends Len and Jomar Diaz got married. 9 years later after being highschool sweethearts, they tie the knot.

photography by jar concengco

August
Most wedding magazines are seasonal (with issues coming out about only once or twice a year). I had the opportunity to work with a new magazine called Island Weddings. Since it was the maiden issue, we actually started shooting the materials since February. Here are some of my favorites, including some by model and designer Gionna Cabrera wearing gowns by Renee Salud:

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

By this time, Adobo Magazine’s July-August 2010 issue was on the racks of bookstores not only nationwide but neighboring Asian countries as well. Their cover featured Campaign Brief Asia’s Philippine Agency of the Year: DDB DM9 Jaymesyfu. Shot by yours truly:

photography by jar concengco

For Playboy Philippine’s 2nd anniversary (they celebrated at Sofitel), they named me the “Photographer of the Year”. I would scan the certificate, but I don’t know where it is anymore. LOL. Here is a photo from their August issue’s fashion editorial that I shot:

photography by jar concengco

September
I really enjoyed working with Adobo Magazine and I’m guessing they enjoyed my work as well… Because they booked me for several other note-worthy shoots. I took portraits of the most interesting and inspiring people in the industry.

John Sayles is an American filmmaker and director. His latest masterpiece entitled Amigo was filmed purely on the island of Bohol in the Philippines. The film is now being shown in film festivals all over the world:

photography by jar concengco

Ernie Lopez is the head of ABS-CBN Publishing. They’re the first in the Philippines to have a digital version of a magazine especially made for the iPad. We shot this portrait in his office on the 8th floor of the ELJ building:

photography by jar concengco

Lee Meily is a cinematographer with Filipino movies like “Sa ‘Yo Lamang” and “I Love You Goodbye” in her IMDB profile. I was so nervous to be shooting such a successful and creative lensman:

photography jar concengco

Metro Magazine (special thanks to Geolette Esguerra) had me photograph One Naturales maker Charade Galang. This was my first time working with Metro Magazine and I was thrilled to have this project. One Naturales by Charade is now available in all Watson’s stores.

photography by jar concengco

October
I’ve been shooting on location ever since I started shooting. It’s what I feel most comfortable in. This is probably the reason why I fit snugly shooting interiors. Not only that, but seeing people’s houses and their spaces intrigue me. I see stories when I walk into someone else’s home. Here are some of the interiors that I shot for various magazines:

Expat Magazine

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

Celebrity Living

Gaby dela Merced in her art store located in “The Collective”.

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

Celebrity Living

Celebrity Living’s December 2010 cover story – Kim Chiu’s new home by SMDC. See more pics here.

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

Billionaire Magazine

Special thanks to Sherry Apostol and Kevin Wickham for being such great hosts. The home they made located in Subic is absolutely beautiful and intelligently made.

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

photography by jar concengco

One of the biggest clothing brands of the Philippines gave me a call and asked me if I could document their latest campaign. You can read more about it in one my more recent blogs here. But for the sake of this blog post, please allow me to share with you my favorite photo from behind the scenes:

photography by jar concengco

November
My wife and I took a trip to San Francisco to visit my family for Thanksgiving. My sister cooks crazy good and we didn’t want to miss out on all the delicious food.

photography by jar concengcophotography by jar concengcophotography by jar concengco

While in San Francisco, I collaborated with stylist Alanna Anderson once again for a fashion editorial that will be hitting the magazine racks soon. Our team consisted of makeup artist Nikol Elaine, hairstylist Sarah Elaine, and model Lauren Fletcher. I can’t divulge too much information until it’s published, except show you this short behind the scenes video:

http://www.vimeo.com/18489858

December

When I returned to the Philippines from San Francisco, I noticed a billboard on Katipunan that I took! It was for a slimming product (and from what I hear, there will be another billboard coming up in Quiapo and also in Lucena, Quezon). It’s pretty cool to see your photos that huge.

photography by jar concengco
This year I started working with one of the sexiest, most intelligent magazines out there: Monday Magazine. I look forward to each issue (not only because I have contributions in them) because of their read-worthy articles and witty charm. I’ll let them introduce themselves with this little video:

In their Edition 4, which came out Nov.-Dec. 2010 (entitled “Excess”), they asked me to photograph some very expensive furniture and vases in a museum like setting. Here is one photo from that set:

photographer jar concengco

That’s my year in a nutshell. And how does it compare to 2007, 2008, 2009? I think 2010 proved that I could do a whole lot more, and that I love what I do. I surprised even myself. *sigh* So there you have it: closure. It’s time to say farewell to good buddy 2010, and hello to new best friend 2011.

Cheers to a new year!

P.S. Please keep in touch along the way.  Whether it’s Facebook or Twitter, I’d love to hear from you.

Share this post:

Add to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Comments
3 Responses to “2010: A Year In Pictures”
  1. azrael says:

    wow!!!
    happy new year!!

  2. BJ says:

    Awesome year. Happy Née Year. Here’s to an even better 2011

  3. macy says:

    Awesome 2010! 🙂 I bet 2011 will even be greater, with the baby coming. Looking forward to more exquisite photos! 🙂

Leave a Reply

