5 Shoots and Their Inspirations (Pegs & Moodboards)

Just like anything in life, one big step to have  a successful photoshoot is in the planning. When I get an idea for a photoshoot, I try to make it tangible, visible, and objective for myself and my clients. I look for images, color palettes, textures, and moods that evoke the final result I’m trying to go for. So even before the shoot even happens, I have a good feeling about how it’s going to turn out. You can call these pegs or turn them into a moodboard.

Almost everything has a digital representation on the Internet (and on your digital camera). What I do, is I create a folder on my iPad full of photos that inspire me. I separate each folder for subject (there’s fashion, there’s food, there’s even one for engagement shoots). If you have Evernote on your computer or Ipad, that helps too! You can even put audio files in there from your pre-prod meetings. Here is an interesting article regarding creating mood boards on Evernote.

I’d like to share with you some of my past shoots and their pegs. Remember, the point is not to exactly copy from the peg. It’s to draw inspiration from it and try to express it to the team you’re working with. They’re visual aids so everyone’s on the same page.

Stylist/photographer/fashion show director Owen Buenaventura says that he draws inspiration from “the products and the models themselves”. And to him, the shoot can also be inspired by “the location or the occasion or the nature of the shoot”. I find this true as one of the first questions I like to ask when a shoot will take place is, where are we shooting it. It’s always different logistically when the shoot’s going to be in a studio or on location.

campfire media jar concengcoArt Director Joel Catapang hoards images, sketches and thoughts in a notebook that he may later draw inspiration from. “So that in time I need those ideas, I’ll just make a bit of a twist and apply it to the fitting project.” He even goes as far as regarding these pegs and photos as his “weapons” so that when he goes to a shoot (the “battle”), he’s ready.

I even have pegs and moodboards for when I do engagement shoots with couples. Here’s a recent one that I did and which I’m pretty proud of! The couple (mind you they’re not models) did very well!

campfiremedia jar concengco

And here’s one I shot for Sense & Style magazine awhile back:campfiremedia jar concengco

Stylist Leslie Foley notes that research plays a big part in how she starts the process, “Most jobs require me to research the subject or theme and learn about the project more in depth. This is inspiring because I have focus and get to research clothes, accessories, props, locations, music, people, etc. that come into play. I try to cover all my bases and work with other creatives.” Two good points: research and a good, creative team.

Here’s a shoot a shoot I did with Hyphen Magazine a few years back and their pegs. I worked with the editorial team at Hyphen and also the model and stylist of the shoot, Glenda Macatangay.

campfire media jar concengco

Hope this little post was able to shed some light in how I organize my thoughts before going into a shoot. Where do you draw inspiration from? How do you organize your thoughts so that you can execute what’s on your mind?

Leave a Reply

