Two (very) different hotels we stayed at in Bangkok

Bangkok is known for many things. If you’ve only came across it because of the Hangover movies, then you may need to brush up a little more. The city is both modern and full of history. It has the longest reining monarch alive (and possibly the richest. According to Forbes, King Bhumibol took the top spot back in 2011).

For this trip, I wanted to experience the convenience and luxury the country offered as well as its history. This is why I booked 2 hotels.

First off, check out our video of the trip. It sums it all up.

Here’s a video of our trip:

Aloft Bangkok

Aloft was conveniently situated in Sukhumvit 11 (two BTS stops away from Paragon). It’s also right across the street from Bed Supperclub (except I wasn’t the clubber type).

The front of the hotel:

photo by jar concengco

The hotel’s bar called wxyz bar served molecular mixology! I didn’t get to try it though.

photo jar concengco

The lobby was colorful:

photo jar concengco

There was a business/recreation area:

photo jar concengco

There was a snack bar called re:fuel which was pretty convenient and cool (but expensive! Bottled water was 75 Baht!):

photo jar concengco

Here was their bar during the daytime:

photo jar concengco

Modern furniture everywhere:

photo jar concengco

Their pool was located on the 10th floor:

photo jar concengco

You’ll have this view:

photo jar concengco

Their restaurant (Crave) had an open kitchen in the middle:

photo jar concengco

We took an Urban room which was big enough for us three:

photo jar concengco

Our bathroom was impressive:

photo jar concengco

The Asadang

I found The Asadang Bed and Breakfast in TripAdvisor. It’s ranked #4 under Bed & Breakfasts in Bangkok. I chose it because it was located in the old part of Bangkok near the temples, etc. There was also a little park next to it which I imagined we could chill in.

The building was featured in a book titled “Architectural Heritage in Thailand II”:

photo jar concengco asadang_02

There was an old photograph in the hotel. The street looked familiar. This may be the corner where The Asadang is:

asadang_jar_concengco_12

When you enter The Asadang, it’s basically like entering someone’s house. There’s no grand lobby. No bellboy waiting for you. It’s warm. It’s familiar:

asadang_jar_concengco_13

The small dining area:

asadang_jar_concengco_11asadang_jar_concengco_10

We took the biggest room of the hotel called The Asadang Suite (there are only nine rooms available):

asadang_jar_concengco_05asadang_jar_concengco_06

Our keys:

asadang_jar_concengco_04

Our bathroom:

asadang_jar_concengco_07 asadang_jar_concengco_08

The only room with a private balcony:

asadang_jar_concengco_09

There were definitely pros and cons between the two hotels. But I’m glad we got to experience both.

When I was preparing for this trip, I used 3 apps to help me:

1. Trip Advisor City Guides. It’s offline and specifically has a guide for Bangkok. Free.

TripAdvisor-Offline-City-Guides-big-icon_5091

2. Amazing Thailand. It lists all of the restaurants, hotels, and things to do worth checking out in Bangkok and beyond (it even includes Ayutthaya, Pattaya, and other provinces of Thailand). They also feature any promotions of establishments. Free.

513192626_icon175x175

3. Google Maps. When I found a restaurant or hotel that I wanted to check out, I inputed it here and “starred” it. After “starring” the points of interest, I was able to group together items that were near each other. You can even go into street view to virtually walk in the streets to familiarize yourself of the area. Plus, I used this app when taxi drivers got lost. Free.

gmm_ios_icon.jpgw300

Also, check out the 5 notable restaurants of our trip.

Follow me. facebook. twitter. instagram.

Comments
6 Responses to “Two (very) different hotels we stayed at in Bangkok”
  1. Shay says:

    Love the video Jar… really awesome! Diego is growing up too fast. Happy Anniversary to you and Kay!

    xoxo

  2. CS says:

    Hey!

    I’m planning a trip in June. Can you give me the cost per room including taxes that you had to pay for both these hotels?

    Thanks

  3. CS says:

    Hey!

    I’m planning a trip in June. Can you give me the cost per room including taxes that you had to pay for both these hotels?

    Thanks

    • Hi CS, for Aloft and Asadang, their prices are all on their websites. For the Asadang Suite, I paid Baht 11,000 total for two days (which was a bit pricy but worth it if you’re into the bed and breakfast experience). For Aloft, it cost about Baht 3,000 a night.

  4. I was very happy to find this page. I wanted to thank you for your time for
    this wonderful read!! I definitely liked every little bit of
    it and I have you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff in
    your site.

  5. I’m fun with this page. The video is very lovely. I thing Bangkok is a most popular province in Thailand that people are visited.

Leave a Reply

