Purple Yam: Home Cooked

When People Asia asked me to photograph Amy Besa of Purple Yam Malate, I smiled to myself. I knew it was going to be another insightful shoot with creative and delicious dishes like when I shot her menu for a holiday feast for Smile Magazine.

True enough, it was another wonderful experience with interesting dishes like a nori taco and champoy ice cream. Amy’s working with such a bright team in the kitchen and it shows how well they collaborate.

People_Asia_Purple_Yam_jar_concengco01

A nori taco (nori turned into a crispy vessel) filled with mushroom , tomatoes, and lettuce).People_Asia_Purple_Yam_jar_concengco03 People_Asia_Purple_Yam_jar_concengco02

 

Since it was Chinese New Year when I shot this, they had a squash tikoy (I can eat this all day everyday) and champoy ice cream (surprisingly so good!).

People_Asia_Purple_Yam_jar_concengco04

The team at Purple Yam Malate, Amy Besa, writer Doug Candano, the People Asia Team (Monica and Chino) and I:People_Asia_Purple_Yam_jar_concengco05

 

I was also able to finally get my own copy of Amy Besa’s book, Memories of Philippine Kitchens:Purple_Yam_jar_concengco06

With a dedication of course:Purple_Yam_jar_concengco07

 

Follow me: facebook, twitter, instagram (@campfiremedia)

Leave a Reply

